Stop Slogan-Voting. Stop Hate-Voting. Stop Being Manipulated. Introduction

Stop slogan-voting. Stop hate-voting. Stop being manipulated.

We are in a fight for religious freedom in America. Religious freedom is sometimes called the “first freedom.” It is, after all, enshrined in the First Amendment. But there is another reason to call it the “first freedom.” Religious freedom is the basic human freedom on which other freedoms are built. It strikes to the core of our souls, of who we are as individuals and how we view ourselves and other people. All the questions of human worth and the proper relationship of government to the individual person have their genesis in the right to religious freedom.

If the government takes on itself the power to subjugate religious institutions, to bring them under its heel, it will also take onto itself the power to, as Elizabeth I said, “open a window” into its citizen’s souls. That is what is at stake. 

The only hammer we the people have in this debate is our vote. Like the good citizens we are, we do vote. We vote. And then the people we elect proceed to represent the same special interests they represented before we voted. We change the people who hold office, but we can’t change the direction of government. It’s as if we pull a lever and find it’s not connected to anything. 

I’ve spent the past few days thinking about all this; praying about it, and trying to decide what I can do in my small Oklahoma world to aid in this fight. I think that the truth is our best weapon.

I am going to write a series of posts telling you the truth about politics as I understand it. That means I’m going to tell you some things you don’t want to hear, including things about we the people that we don’t want to face. What I’m going to say isn’t The Truth. It’s not absolute. It’s not part of the eternal verities by which we all should seek to live. It’s not anybody’s gospel, not even mine. It’s just how I honestly understand the process and what I think is true about our situation.

While what I say is not The Truth, my ideas are certainly informed opinions. I’ve spent many years in elected office and many more on the political sidelines. I’ve been on the inside of at a least one of the critical issues we face as a nation, 

You can disagree with me all you want. It doesn’t bother me in the least. My goal isn’t to manipulate you into thinking as I think. My goal is to jump-start your understanding and to inspire you to begin thinking for yourself. 

We the people are giving away the power of our vote by letting ourselves be manipulated into hate-voting and slogan-voting. It’s time to stop. 

43 comments

  1. i am looking forward to reading your posts. I had great hope for the Fortnight for Freedom campaign that was to “awake the sleeping giant” but I am sad to say that from my viewpoint the effort was more like a sleepwalking zombie. I visited several Masses since this began and heard nary a word from the priests. Most Catholics in the pews don’t even know its going on, much less know that it almost over.

    1. I know. In my opinion, many of our priests have failed to support their bishops in this incredibly important effort.

  2. I also am looking forward to this series, if we are going to stay within the system, which is still desirable, we need tactical insight, there are quite a few who understand the fight operationally and strategically but where to start?

    I’m starting to note a swing away from Romney in conservative circles, in truth I feel the same urge but, am convinced we can control Romney better in his 1st term than Obama in his 2d.

    1. What a salient … and sad … point that we need to do our best to elect the people who we think will do the least harm. Sad, and true.

      “am convinced we can control Romney better in his 1st term than Obama in his 2d.”

      1. Sad, true, and disgusting that the 40% of the population that self identifies as conservative can’t seem to get a voice. We both know that the Republican grew primarily from the northern group of the Whigs (including Lincoln). The Whigs were never about small government and it shows to this day.

        Answers, I don’t have but the time is coming soon that we had best find some.

        1. I think everyone feels some of this.

          1. I know. Thanks for listening, perhaps we’ll figure it out.

  3. Amen, Sister! I look forward to reading what you have to say. We are gifted by God with intellect and with the ability to make decisions; also, in Christ, we are blessed with the Spirit of wisdom and truth and with God’s Word to inform those decisions for righteousness. Now, we need to be courageous enough to engage in it all while remaining people who love as Christ does. Thank you for speaking up so eloquently and so clearly. Blessings,

    1. Thank you Steve.

  4. I am so looking forward to your perspective. You come to this with humility and faith, but also with so much experience of the public square. If ‘we the people’ means anything anywhere, it is in your great country. Oh how we need your nation to rise up and to witness to the Truth. Thank you so much for your witness.

    1. Thank you Jessica. Pray for Christians here in America.

      1. I do. It is good to know there are politicians like you in the world.

  5. Echoing everyone above, I’m looking forward to your making the muddled clear for us. You have such a gift of cutting through the you-know-what to present what we (mostly) already know to be true but can only verbalize or act on clumsily.

  6. I couldn’t agree with you more!! It upsets me soo much that christians all around the world keep silent on issues. If you are not voting, then you are casting your vote with the majority… be it good or bad. Evil thrives when the christians of the world sit back and do nothing….So sad!

  7. Thank you… bring it on. I look forward to your insights and honesty in this season of national discontent. What could be more appropriate on the 4th of July? Let freedom ring!

  8. pastorjeffcma · ·

    Allow me to add mine to the crescendo of voices longing to hear some truth “from the inside.” I, as so many others, am anticipating what you have to share. I hope it will be both illuminating and motivating.

    1. Thank you Pastor Jeff.

  9. Durable · ·

    ,Sounds great but lets not forget the ways we vote every day: where we spend, where we save our earnings, where and how we live, and yes, where we worship and fellowship.

    It is hard these days to separate global corporations, national scale banks, and government entities. Our spending should be local as much as possible.

    Our savings should be in credit unions, sound money (that cant be devalued thru a printing press), and tangibles.

    Our lives should produce value and we should reduce our dependence on those who seeks to control us.

    And our fellowship should be with those who share our values not just those who share a label.

    Uhow can two walk together unless they agree?

    1. I’m going to focus on the area where I feel I can add the most value to the discussion, which is electoral and legislative process and politics.

      I’m not sure exactly what you mean by fellowship. I’ve found that it’s quite possible to work very well with people of other faiths in the areas where our interests coincide. It’s also possible — and rewarding — to share friendships with people of other faiths.

      Atheists who are attracted to politics, at least the ones I’ve dealt with, seem to actively hate Christians, traditional Christians who support the sanctity of human life and traditional marriage, in particular. They can be very ugly and vicious in the way they treat Christians. I have found it almost impossible to work with them, even when we agree about something.

      Personal friendships, if that’s what you mean, are something I would probably talk about (if at all) in posts with a different topic than this series.

      1. I look forward to reading the series.

  10. Sounds good! I will be keeping an eye out.

    Thanks!

    1. I really enjoy your blog. Thanks for stopping by.

      1. Thank you. I appreciate that very much.

        Your blog goes to town though! 🙂

        God bless.

  11. A happy 4 July to you all – and may the day remind you why you all fight for freedom as you do 🙂

  12. It sound great it sound good but you shall find that the entrenched older members of the Democratic and communist party’s will vote O man no matter what. As to the progressive like Madame Sectary of state they will do that which has the appearance of good while working to do something entirely different and as always if found out they have a scapegoat all prepared it all because of a vast ring wing Republican conspiracy.

    1. Keep reading J.G! I’m interested in your reaction to what I’m going to say.

      Happy 4th of July!!

  13. Interesting beginning; I look forward to seeing the development of this series. Blessings to you for this walk of faith. To be able to vote not only by values but with a bit more knowledge would be nice for those of us not so well informed in the political arenas, which honestly, more often than not, just seem ultra depressing. Like we just can’t win. But because many have been voting in recent years, both in the earthly and heavenly courts, more according to values, there is a shifting in the works. This post is just one of the inklings of the true change that is coming.

    1. Thank you. My main concern in this is that the truth will depress everyone so much they lose hope. Please let me know if the things I say in this series start having that effect. We need the truth, but part of the truth is that we are NOT helpless!

      1. AMEN! I remember too well the phrase “you can’t fight city hall” in my youth. I think we took that to be truth. Time to turn the tables, and know that we can!

  14. I am looking forward to your articles. I try to be as informed as I can – so that when I vote I can honestly say I know what I am voting for and that is what has me concerned this election, I can’t with a clear conscience vote for either one. Maybe understanding the political system will help me sort things out and give me hope that even I can “fight city hall”. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us so we can become better informed. Blessings ~ Patty

    1. Thank you Patty. I’m going to try to share a lot of what my grandmother called “home truths.” Stick with me through the whole series and don’t get discouraged. We CAN do things. But we can’t be effective without that nasty-tasting “home truth” medicine.

  15. Honesty is refreshing even if the story told is not what we might want to hear. My wife is pretty sick of all politicians, and she appreciated the tone of your introduction. We both look forward to what you have to say about your experiences.

    1. Thanks — and tell your wife thank you, too!

  16. I am always amazed at how many good and faithful Christians allow themselves to be manipulated by scare tactics. I’ve heard some pretty amazing reasons why some vote for the candidate they think they like (all actuality they don’t know if they like them or not because they only hear the louder side of the story). I look forward to your posts.

    1. Jim, we have to remember that the people doing the manipulating are either pros, or they are part of a large cabal that is backed by pros. The best defense is an unalterable allegiance to Jesus First, Jesus Only through the teachings of the Gospels.

  17. :-))! I think i read Part 1 before the Introduction to this particular blog. I want to again say Thank You Ms. Hamilton! This is so extremely refreshing to hear from someone in your position. May you be blessed and empowered even more with God’s Holy Spirit as you stand your ground. Thank you for your Service!

    1. Thanks again! Keep in touch.

  18. Rebecca, thank you for liking my recent posts. I truly appreciated that. I look forward to your series on this particular subject. Blessings to you!

    1. Thank you! Your posts are great! I especially like the ones on anxiety and coming to Jesus just as we are.

  19. I have re-posted your introduction and will follow up with additional comments. Thank you again for your candor and honesty. You are “a mighty rushing wind” (Acts 2.2) sweeping down the plain. Here’s a link: http://scpeanutgallery.com/2012/07/06/like-a-mighty-rushing-wind-public-catholic-speaks-to-the-grassroots/ Thanks again.

    1. Thank you my friend.

