Stop Slogan-Voting. Stop Hate-Voting. Stop Being Manipulated. Part 1: Your Vote = Their Power

Your Vote = Their Power 

Politics is about power.

The two political parties are not political parties as we once knew them. They are consortiums of special interests. They operate on behalf of these interests for one purpose: to get and keep power. 

Everything else they say is a lie. 

The next time you feel like bowing down to your political party, remember this, and stand upright.

Don’t bend your knee to the R and the D. Register for whichever party, or as an independent, as you please. Vote according to your own understanding and conscience. I have no desire to influence you in that. But do not confuse your party’s trumpeting claims of moral superiority with actual moral superiority. Do not, ever, take the cross down off your mantelpiece and put the Republican elephant or the Democratic donkey in its place. 

Both parties actively encourage such idolatry. They do it because they benefit from it. They win elections with the votes of people who slavishly follow them and believe in them as if they were Christ Himself. Winning elections is how political parties get power. Power is how they control the purse strings and the facilities of government. Power is the payback for lying to you.

They get power by lying to you. They keep it by almost but not quite fulfilling their promises. Holding you on a leash of unfulfilled expectations by always trying but failing to do the things they promised when you voted for them is axiomatic to making sure that you keep coming back to them again and again. If they actually did what they said they would do, the vote-getting engine would go dead. It takes showmanship and adept political choreography to create an unending series of cliff-hanger battles that will keep you focused and rooting for your team. 

It also requires an excuse for repeatedly failing to deliver. Political parties have to hide the obvious. They can’t just say, sure we’re the party of life, but even after 40 years of trying, we’re still too dumb to find a way to overturn Roe. The other guys can’t say, of course we’re the party of the American worker, but we’re such idiots that after 40 years of deep thinking we still can’t come up with a way to stop exporting your jobs. Even the most besotted kool-aid-drinking party loyalist might gag on this. 

So … what’s a political party to do when it has no intention of doing anything it says but it wants to make sure that the voters don’t figure this out? Easy. They tell you that the Other Party is the Devil. They claim that they are still your white knight, trying desperately to ride to the rescue, but the Other Party, those black-hearted wraiths from the deepest pit of political hell, overcome them in spite of their heroic efforts. The only way to make this work is if the two parties play off against one another so they can keep the attempt-failure cycle spinning. If either one of them decided that the thing to do was represent the people, the jig would be up.

In truth, political parties have no use for working people except for their votes. Political parties don’t care about either a woman’s right to chose or an unborn baby’s right to life. What they do care about is using those issues to motivate you to send them money and march to the polls on election day to deliver your vote.  

That’s how they get power. Power is what they want, and they will tell you anything it takes to get you to give it to them. 

It’s a simple equation: Your Vote = Their Power.

What about the various alliances political parties form with religious groups? You know, the lefty churches who have mutilated the Gospels one way to suit the Ds, and the righty churches who have mutilated the Gospels the other way to suit the Rs. 

Here’s how that works when the television cameras are off. Religious groups don’t have the power of government. They can’t enact taxes or call up armies. They can’t pass laws or issue mandates. Those are all powers of government. However, religious groups do have a potent power of their own. People think their religious leaders speak for God. They listen to religious leaders because they believe in their prophetic and moral voice. 

We live in a country where the way you get control of the power of government is to win elections. You win elections by getting lots of people to vote for you. You can’t win elections by telling voters “I’m going to go in there and represent special interests and do things that will take away your livelihood, cost you your home and that fly in the face of every moral belief you cherish.” That’s not a winning strategy. So, they lie.

But lies, when they are such obvious lies as these have become, need a cover. What better cover than the moral gloss of religious leaders, lending their prophetic and moral voice to your self-serving, special-interest-supporting agenda? 

Party leaders don’t care about religion and they don’t respect the religious leaders they con into supporting them. I know this. Let me repeat that: I know it. I’ve seen heads of denominations go in to talk to legislative leaders. These preachers are all puffed up and sure of themselves when they walk in. They are certain that these men who they got elected and who promised them, gave them their word, that they would be for something like, say, pro life legislation, just don’t understand what they are doing when they are killing this legislation. These religious leaders are sure they can set things right. I’ve had them tell me so in just those words. 

 “I’m going to talk to him and set things right,” they say. They are so sure, so certain of themselves and their relationship with these powerful men. 

Then, I’ve seen them come back out of those meetings on their knuckles and their knees, totally bamboozled and beaten. 

What’s even more disheartening is that I’ve never, with the single exception of the Catholic Bishops, seen even one of these religious leaders stand back up like men and go to war with the legislative leader. They smarm around to me and tell me things like “I’ve got to maintain contact with the Speaker,” or “I don’t want to lose access.” One of them even told me, “He lets me have his personal cell phone number.”

They keep on supporting these liars. What’s worse, they let them kill the pro life bills behind closed doors and never call them to task over it. They support them in the next election, proclaiming as if it was true that this is a 100% pro life politician. 

I want to emphasize that I have seen and heard this myself. I’ve seen it not once, but over and over with different legislative leaders in different sessions of the legislature. If you want to know why nothing ever changes, this is a big part of the reason. 

This is painful to witness. It hurts. I’ve argued with these religious leaders and tried unsuccessfully to get them to grow spines. I’ve railed at these legislative leaders for being hypocrites and bullies. When I do this, religious leaders hang their heads and shuffle their feet. The politicians usually turn mean and try to take revenge on me inside the process somehow. As for me, I go home and pray and go to confession and then pray some more.

I cling to certain scriptures. One of my favorite Psalms has the words, “If I fly to the highest heaven, You are there. If I make my bed in hell, You are with me. Your right arm sustains me.” Another one begins, “Contend, Oh Lord, with those who contend with me.” And a third says, “Oh Lord, how many are my foes … many are saying to me, ‘There is no help for you in God. But you are a shield around me.” 

I pray these Psalms and I ask God to remind me of my own sins, to not let me sink into the pit of self-righteousness or bitterness, but to help me remember that I am just an instrument in His hands, to be used as He sees best. 

That’s how I get through it. But it is difficult, and it’s getting more so. The government is doing more and more harm to the people. It is even attacking the Constitution and our basic freedoms. Religious leaders who have allowed themselves to become shameless political groupies for the two parties feed the contempt that supports a surging secularism. There is a war on, and we are losing it. 

If you are a Christian, the only side you have in this war is Jesus’ side. 

We all want someone else to come in and do the dirty work for us. We want “them” whoever they might be, to save our country, protect our freedoms and work in our interests. That’s probably why we are so eager to believe the absurd, repetitive lies the two political parties tell us. But the fact is that if we want to be saved we’re going to have to do it ourselves, and some of the first people we need to be saved from are both these pernicious political parties and their lying manipulations. 

My first bit of advice as I wind down Part 1 of this series is to take down the donkey or the elephant and put the cross back up on your home altar. Give up your false idol of political party and turn back to the Only God, the only One Who can save you, and me, and our great nation, America. 

 

 

75 comments

  1. Fantastic Post. Great advice on taking down the donkey and the elephant. I agree that too many people would rather follow their political parties than Chirst. It takes courage to write what you have written and I commend you for it. God Bless.

    1. Thank you Daniel! I’m relieved. It’s such strong stuff, I was concerned if people would understand.

  2. Good advice. St Ignatius of Antioch said,”No earthly pleasures, no kingdoms of this world can benefit me in any way. I prefer death in Christ Jesus to power over the farthest limits of the earth. He who died in place of us is the one object of my quest. He who rose for our sakes is my one desire. Do not talk about Jesus Christ as long as you love this world.” You’re echoing his teachings. Thanks for that!

    1. Thank you! I wish I had your knowledge of these things!

  3. Wow! That’s real straight talking Rebecca. I can see why the other politicos put pressure on you, you give their sordid little game away and encourage people to think. Whatever next, voting with your conscience, – where’d the parties be then? Perhaps we should treat them as they do us – as vehicles for what we want? More power to your elbow – and thank the Lord for politicians like you.

    1. Thank you Jessica.

  4. I figured out some of that when “my” political party sent me a letter saying that I had been chosen to be in their business advisory group. It was only a ploy for money. If you paid money, you could come give them some advice. Yeah, right. If you paid them money, you could go to the inauguration. If you paid them money…

    1. Pauline, they send those letters out by the tens of thousands. It’s a two-part ploy. First, they get your money. Second, they get you to answer questions that allow them to learn how better to manipulate you in future mailings, advertising and what slogans they chose.

      One thing they’re NOT interested in is taking your advice.

      You are a lot smarter than most people. You figured this out!

  5. Rebecca, thanks for writing this. Every voter needs to read it, and take the words to heart.

    Sometimes I think that there’s really only one party, and that they’ve stacked the deck more in their favor by making us think we really have a choice, when all we’re doing is putting one of their own in office no matter who we vote for.

    This election, for example. If ever there was a presidential election that had me discouraged, this is it. Romney or Obama, voting for either is nothing more than a vote to keep the status quo. The idea of a choice is just an illusion. That’s the way I see it, anyhow. Rebecca, again thanks for this post. I’m looking forward to the next installment.

    1. There is a a lot of truth to this.

      “Sometimes I think that there’s really only one party, and that they’ve stacked the deck more in their favor by making us think we really have a choice, when all we’re doing is putting one of their own in office no matter who we vote for.”

  6. Well said, Rebecca. Strong stuff, sure, but truth is truth and stands on its own. This aligns with what I know/see, perhaps its easier here because we are effectively (except the 1st Cong. district) a one party state. Work for us? Not in this lifetime. Our state convention is next week, and the Liberty Caucus (so-called) has an insurgency going on. it’s going to be more interesting than usual.

    1. We have all the same things here. Keep us informed about what happens at the convention.

      1. Surely, It looks right now like the Governor (the first Governor to endorse Romney) is going to be embarrassed, I should have more current information in the morning.

      2. Apparently Governor Dave is not pleased! This is fro RedState Eclectic. Laura is Laura Ebke, the chair of the Nebraska Liberty Caucus. Should be an interesting week.

      3. Hate it when I forget to paste 🙂

        “Ebke was called in to a meeting with the governor recently, where Heineman “made it clear to us that he wasn’t very happy” about the group’s support for the candidate for chairman that he had not endorsed, John Orr. She said the governor said they shouldn’t challenge his authority to name a state chairman.

        How dare anyone challenge the gov’s authoriTAY? Oh, those insurgents…”

      4. Thanks for the updates! Hang in there, friend!

    1. Thank YOU for your wonderful ministry!

      1. Thank you, i appreciate that. :-))!

  7. I remember when I was a teenager I went to “Girls State” and ran for office in a pretend political election. Without being coached, I promised anything the voters wanted and said “when I’m elected you’ll get everything and anything..” and I won by a landslide! lol! Had I been that affected by the world I lived in at 15 or was I born knowing how to swindle? Hmm sad we are passing down this kind of education.

    1. 🙂 Great story! Thanks for sharing it.

  8. Reblogged this on Durable Faith and commented:
    ‘Take down the donkey or elephant and put the cross back …’

    Indeed

    1. Thanks for the re-blog!

  9. Peter Wiebe · ·

    Amen to putting Christ and His cross in their proper place, Rebecca.

    1. Thank you Peter.

  10. justifiedandsinner · ·

    These passage tend to put this discussion into place as well:

    2:1 Why this uproar among the nations, this impotent muttering of the peoples? 2 Kings of the earth take up position, princes plot together against Yahweh and his anointed, 3 ‘Now let us break their fetters! Now let us throw off their bonds!’ 4 He who is enthroned in the heavens laughs, Yahweh makes a mockery of them, 5 then in his anger rebukes them, in his rage he strikes them with terror. 6 ‘I myself have anointed my king on Zion my holy mountain.’ 7 I will proclaim the decree of Yahweh: He said to me, ‘You are my son, today have I fathered you. 8 Ask of me, and I shall give you the nations as your birthright, the whole wide world as your possession. 9 With an iron sceptre you will break them, shatter them like so many pots.’ 10 So now, you kings, come to your senses, you earthly rulers, learn your lesson! 11 In fear be submissive to Yahweh; [12a] with trembling 12 kiss his feet, lest he be angry and your way come to nothing, for his fury flares up in a moment. How blessed are all who take refuge in him!
    Psalm 2:1-12 (NJB)

    ( I would also note that the above was written by a politician for, King David, that wrote this… )

    2:13 For the sake of the Lord, accept the authority of every human institution: the emperor, as the supreme authority, 14 and the governors as commissioned by him to punish criminals and praise those who do good. 15 It is God’s will that by your good deeds you should silence the ignorant talk of fools. 16 You are slaves of no one except God, so behave like free people, and never use your freedom as a cover for wickedness. 17 Have respect for everyone and love for your fellow-believers; fear God and honour the emperor. (or king or president)
    1 Peter 2:13-17 (NJB)

    and finally

    3:1 Remind them to be obedient to the officials in authority; to be ready to do good at every opportunity; Titus 3:1 (NJB)

    1. Thanks for these.

    2. Durable · ·

      Not digging that translation of firstthe peter at all. So, hitler, yes sir, stalin, how may i help you, and mao, how high shall i jump? Jesus and the disciples regulary challenged the human institutions of their day and we are to follow in their footsteps.

      1. justifiedandsinner · ·

        Durable,
        St Peter wrote these in regard to a emperor who was not so unlike Stalin – a man named Nero. He had a habit of lighting up garden parties by coating Christians in pitch and igniting them. So keep that in mind when you read it – St Peter is neither being naive or having an attitude that is positive.

        Keep in mind the context – which is the MIssio Dei – and that our good behavior brings glory to God – because it testifies of our trust in Him, our trust in His faithfulness. This isn’t done blindly – but as the passage leads – for the sake of the Lord.
        Does that mean we do evil? Of course not – but it does mean if the choice is prison – we take it. Even if it is death, we don’t deny God. Over 3000 priests and pastors did that under Hitler’s reign. Some others – passively embraced that evil ( as did the church father’s in Carthage ) misunderstanding this passage – and the admonition to not do evil that is in it. Yet even our opposition needs to be done in righteousness, a hard challenge – especially when our leaders aren’t respected.

        BTW – again I urge you – look at the lives of saints who were martyred…. their strength in this indeed testifies of their trust in God, just as those in the Epistle to the Hebrews.

        Tough reading yes… yet it is still as inspired as the gospels, or the pentatuch.

        Godspeed.

        PastorDt

  11. Reblogged this on Spiritual Drift and commented:
    Wow! Just, wow! I don’t care which side of the aisle you’re on, this is an amazing, eye-opening post on politics today. Written by State Representative Rebecca Hamilton . . . i.e. someone who would know! Just an outstanding, refreshingly honest look at how our government system truly works.

    1. Kent, thanks for the re-blog!

  12. Good post! It is true that a party can be idolized. Good job working to set the focus straight – on Christ!

    1. Thank you. From my vantage point as an elected official, it’s rather obvious that quite a few people on both sides of the political spectrum have made a false idol of their political party.

  13. If only we could hook them up to lie detector tests. LOL. That would be awesome! Great post.

    1. Imagine if we had lie detectors that let out a loud buzz every time a lie was uttered….and then imagine hooking those up to the major candidates in a political debate, trying to win our votes….Might make for an interesting debate.

      1. Yes it would! LOL.

      2. Or … it might be boring with all that continuous buzzing! 🙂

  14. Reblogged this on spiritualsavant and commented:
    Our king is already on the throne and he doesn’t need the help of politicians. I’m preaching on Acts 12 this week; maybe we need more worms to sweep through congress. Just thinking out loud.

    1. First, thank you for the re-blog! Second, I believe you are right in your comment about politics and Our King. I’m going to talk about that very thing in future posts in this series. Thanks again.

      1. Herod imprisoned, but the church prayed. Herod died, but the word of God spread. Acts 12

        1. Wonderful thought.

    2. Thank you for the re-blog. I agree with you that politics is not the answer, JESUS is the answer.

  15. I must commend you for your courage, Representative Hamilton. Taking a stand for Christ-like values is becoming a difficult endeavor in today’s political climate. These positions can’t be improving your popularity within your party, but that doesn’t seem to concern you. I wish more were like you. As a Jewish conservative, I never thought I would be subscribing to a Catholic blog from a Democrat legislator. I admire you for taking a stand, I’ll have to break it gently to my Rabbi:)

    1. Tell your Rebbe that the Oklahoma Democratic Party, at their statewide convention in 1997, came within 50 votes of officially censuring me for passing a pro life bill over the veto of a Democratic governor. Supporters of the censure claim that it would’ve passed if they’d organized it better. I don’t doubt them. And that’s just the tip of the proverbial iceberg. I’ve been called everything but a nice person by my party — many, many times!

      It is an honor, a grace and a gift to be attacked for protecting the lives of innocent children, for standing up for Jesus. As for my popularity with the powers that be in either party; you’re right. It doesn’t concern me. Never has. I answer to God, the people of District 89, my husband, my 86-year-old mother and a 19-year-old gray tabby cat. Period.

      1. Again, I wish there were more legislators like yourself out there. Your priorities are in exactly the right place. With the support of our Lord, and an old gray tabby cat; who can stand against you? I am looking forward to reading more of your thoughts. May Adonai bless you and keep you.

  16. Thanks for the like and stopping by my site!

    1. Thank, my Sister in Christ!

  17. Amen Rebecca! It’s time we all stood up to these money groveling, power hungry politicians. It’s time we take America back! Thanks for an inspiring post.

  18. I will add my AMEN to this article! Great article and great comments. I just read an article on changing the world and how we can’t do it alone, we all need to work together. This is a good start by getting informed on what is really going on and working together to return our country back to what it was. Blessings ~ God

  19. applyingmybeliefs · ·

    Two good blogs – I too reblogged this on my church’s internal site, posted it on Facebook and tweeted this. There is a lot of idol worshipping going on in our country and it is at the center of why our country is slowly failing morally. Which will then be followed by economic failure, leading to increased poverty and possibly some level of anarchy or maybe a breakdown of our social structures and disintegration of the country. I’m not predicting this, but this is what happened in ancient Rome. It took a few hundred years then, if it happens here it is likely to be quicker as the spread of the infection of immorality is speeded up through technology.

    What you wrote about reminds me of why I am a supporter of term limits. It might not completely fix things, but if long term power and control couldn’t be bought so easily, some politicians might actually get a backbone!

    Good words, Rebecca!

  20. Thank you for this kind comment, and thank you for the re-blog!

  21. Thank you for your candor and honesty. It has hit a nerve with me and brought back some painful memories from the trenches of the “culture wars.”

    I have re-posted your blog under the title – “Public Catholic Comment: Lying Snakes, Kabuki Dancers and Useful Idiots” at scpeanutgallery.com.

    My comments are too long for inclusion here, and perhaps somewhat of a diversion. Here’s a link – http://scpeanutgallery.com/2012/07/09/public-catholic-comment-lying-snakes-kabuki-dancers-and-useful-idiots/ – I’ve tried to call it like I see it.

    Thanks again. I look forward to your next post.

    1. That’s a great title! Thanks for the re-blog.

    2. Art, I re-blogged your re-blog. Hope that’s ok. Your comments add so much value to the conversation. I want as many people as possible to read them. Thanks for your contribution to the discussion!

      1. Thank you.

  22. forourlady · ·

    I hope you appreciate how unique you are. Having your sights set on the Kingdom probably helps you greatly. For my own part, I did look into running for political office here in Idaho. But, it didn’t take long for me to realize that I am not made for that kind of work, so now I’m evaluating becoming clergy (deacon). Thank you, thank you, thank you for what you do. Thank you!

    1. I love your post on Fatima. It is great! As for thanking me, back at ya, for all YOU do.

  23. This is why I look to Rome, meaning the Vatican, before I ever pull the lever. In my state, they’re not sophisticated enough to have voting machines, we’re still marking the ballot with #2 pencils.

    I’m discerning for the diaconate, too, forourlady…

    1. David, I tried to reply to you concerning how to apply Church teachings to the specifics of politics, or at least how I try to do it; but I found that it quickly gets too complex for an answer to a comment.

      The short version is thank you for this comment and blessings on your discernment. I’ll post about this in detail someday in the future.

    2. justifiedandsinner · ·

      David,

      Prayers on your discernment as well, such time should be taken with great care, for the burden of service is always regarding – but often costly.

      The big challenge is balancing respecting Caesar and

  24. I think that giant ditch between the people and the government needs to be filled in. OUR government was designed to be a small part of us as, the part of us who was our voice. The voice who speaks for us ALL, not just the group they think will give them the most votes so they can continue on with their own agenda. Washington needs an overhaul… A big dose of back to reality. We need REAL AMERICANS filling in those seats, not “bureaucrats” born and bread for generations to be above the rest of Americans but Among them.

    1. Agreed. Maybe what we need is a “Steadfast Sheperdess!”

  25. Thanks for the confirming word of what I was pretty sure I knew… very few in the leadership of our nation have God or the people in mind when they promote their agendas. Power and money… their gods. Sadly, as you say, we keep letting them dupe us into believing they are on our side… even promoting them as if they have an answer… when the only answer is prayer and authentic discipleship. God bless your cause here, good friend.

    1. True.

      “Power and money… their gods.”

  26. Thank you, Jesus, for someone who can think clearly about our world!! Well done!

    1. What a nice compliment! Thank you.

  27. […] amounts of money for getting us revved up and full of hate. Remember the first equation: Your Vote = Their Power? That’s what this expensive manipulation of little ole’ us is […]

  28. […] I said earlier, the object of all this sloganeering, hate-campaigning, and propaganda is the manipulation of us, […]

